Skip to content

Vogue Paris December 2010/January 2011: Forever Love

Friday, 3, December, 2010

Photographed by Mr Ford himself and styled by Benjamin Bruno, this editorial proves that passion, sex and diamonds shouldn’t be left in the drawer as you get older.  Mr Ford claims to have had enough of youth, which contradicts an earlier editorial, but we forgive him!

“I am tired of the cult of youth. The cultural rejection of old age, the stigmatization of wrinkles, grey hair, of bodies furrowed by the years. I am fascinated by Diana Vreeland, Georgia O’Keeffe and Louise Bourgeois, women who have let time embrace them without ever cheating. Society today condemns this, me, I celebrate it. For this session of fine jewellery, I imagined a man and a woman who had been together for a long time, faithful to each other and always incandescent with desire”.

Source

27 Comments leave one →
  1. CinZilicious permalink
    Friday, 3, December, 2010 16:43

    okie, i respect freedom and got nth against aging but this just looks a tad bit weird……..lol

    Cinz
    http://cinzee.wordpress.com

    • Friday, 3, December, 2010 16:59

      Really Cinz, you don’t like this? This is one of my favourite editorials in this month’s Vogue. Just imagine passion and great sex with the person you love throughout your life, not just before the wrinkles advance. Growing older but not giving up pleasure, and rocking some serious diamonds. Not too shabby!

      x

  2. Friday, 3, December, 2010 17:00

    I understand his way of thinking, and he’s right in a way, but for the moment, my poor eyes aren’t just used to it ><

    • Friday, 3, December, 2010 17:36

      How interesting! What troubles you? The body of a much older lady? Do you think that it is unappealing generally, or because us women fear looking similar to the model? Ageing is scary isn’t it? I love this editorial!

      For me, this is so natural and way more tolerable than the Terry Richardson work we discussed. I really appreciate hearing your views, so thank you for sharing.

  3. Friday, 3, December, 2010 18:04

    At first I thought it was weird because they’re older, but I think it’s pretty amazing because it’s romantic, and the age shouldn’t matter. 🙂

    xoxo,
    MelRod

    • Saturday, 4, December, 2010 11:33

      Much older but there is something natural about it. I’m glad you like it.

      Have a great weekend!

      x

  4. Friday, 3, December, 2010 18:32

    I want to splash holy water on my eyes…I feel like I’m watching someone’s grandparents gittin’ it on (haha). Much more tolerable than Richardson for sure, and his point is true…why is sex and beauty reserved for youth? I find it more lustful than romantic! The picture where she’s going to bite him on the chest (? I hope that’s his chest?) cracks me up. That’s our trouble tho isn’t it…we’ll all be there one day!
    cupcake

    • Saturday, 4, December, 2010 11:28

      Hehe – holy water won’t help you love!

      He has a point – ageing is natural, beautiful and hopefully we’ll all have someone to stay passionate with!

      x

  5. Friday, 3, December, 2010 19:20

    I don’t think we condemn older people, but of courses that is not something we are looking forward to!!! We are all heading there we know that, we just don’t want to see a reminder of that everytime we open a magazine!! Everybody wishes they can stop the time and remain in they’re 20’s forever.
    Now I know that older people does have sex, but come on… I don’t want to see that!
    Plus the woman looks like my gran… very disturbing!!!
    But Great article as always!!!

    xx
    http://olivialovesfashion.blogspot.com

    • Saturday, 4, December, 2010 11:03

      Oh no, you’ve got me thinking about my granny too… Why are you doing this to me Olivia?!

      I think you’ve touched on a very important point – we don’t want a reminder. We just don’t. Each year we’re reminded about our age (and especially for women of a certain age…) and suddenly BAM, Mr Ford shows us what to expect. If those jewels come with old age, sign me up!!

      x

  6. Friday, 3, December, 2010 20:22

    I love it. I get it. Be daring.

  7. Saturday, 4, December, 2010 00:52

    OMG!!! my eyes…my eyes!!! what the heck…I need to unsee this mess. ewwww ewww Mr Ford..you were doing so well with me lately but this is just unacceptable. Like I said in the Terry Richardson post..overly sexual editorials are completely unnecessary, i dont think they show anything other than conjure repulsive emotions for the reader…ewww again..

    • Saturday, 4, December, 2010 10:55

      No Dana, NOOOOOOOOOO! I’m sorry you don’t like it. I think Mr Ford has done exceptionally well here. I appreciate that it can be shocking, but I get the objective: ageing is not scary. Being old(er) doesn’t mean your love, passion and desires die. As long as you mind is still functioning, it’s all good! As I mentioned in my reply to an earlier comment, we constantly see twenty-somethings getting it on and think nothing of it. This is, whilst considerably more luxe than most people’s life, reality.

      • Saturday, 4, December, 2010 13:27

        Oh Milla….i dont have a problem with old folks getting it on, i just prefer to stay i guess in profound state of ignorance that they do at all. and i am far from being a prude…but putting it out there like this is just …i dont know…ewww?

  8. Saturday, 4, December, 2010 05:09

    It’s funny coming from a man who is Botoxed out of his mind.
    I like the concept of the editorial and how thought-provoking it is, yet I do find the 2 last pictures a tad disturbing and disrespectful in a way.

    • Saturday, 4, December, 2010 10:38

      They’ll be no anti-Mr Ford comments here young lady! Hehe, he looks good. Has he really been botoxed?!

      Incredibly thought-provoking, but disturbing and disrespectful? Why do you say that? How many times have we seen the same image but with models 40-50 years younger? It’s daring yet real. Me likey. I think it troubles us because we can never look at our parents/grandparents in the same way…

  9. flirtinginparis permalink
    Saturday, 4, December, 2010 16:48

    AHHH! This is pretty horrific. I don’t want to see grandma and grandpa going at it. And the lighting is so bright and direct. They could have at least air brushed all the wrinkles. UGH.

    • Saturday, 4, December, 2010 17:02

      Laughing really hard! “Horrific” is a bit strong, non? I don’t want to get into details, but if grandma & grandpa were “going at it”, we wouldn’t be here… Nobody wants to admit it… Wrinkles show experience and love. You really made me giggle, thanks for stopping by!

      M

  10. eline permalink
    Sunday, 5, December, 2010 16:51

    this is SO GOOD! fantastic editorial! for those complaining about their age and wrinkles, get OVER IT!! passion is not the right of the 20somethings only! you will be older one day too, and these are two sexy awesome people enjoying each other! we should all be so lucky!! LOVE THIS MR FORD!!!

  11. tqureshi permalink
    Tuesday, 7, December, 2010 15:36

    Oh gosh – just, no.

    • Tuesday, 7, December, 2010 16:16

      Yet another “no”. Old age isn’t working for anybody… I love, love, love this editorial.

      x

  12. asi permalink
    Friday, 10, December, 2010 01:40

    very sexy. very creative.very very very!!!

  13. clara permalink
    Friday, 10, December, 2010 13:31

    Interesting photos – I love the couple and think they look great individually – but the shots don’t portray any real connection or intimacy to me, regardless of age.
    I applaud Tom Ford for pushing buttons and boundaries!
    Remember Meryl Streep as the romantic lead in this years movie – it’s complicated?

    • Friday, 10, December, 2010 21:20

      Meryl Streep is so attractive Clara, I really find her to be a great role model as well. Mr Ford has continues to impress me, and reminding us that sex and passion are not just for the young is a great idea.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      x

  14. Monday, 10, January, 2011 20:39

    Fantastic Editorial…. Inspirational work, would love to see the fashion world embrace and celebrate maturity.

Leave a comment